Lube Conundrum


Sexademic,

I can’t tell you how sad it made me when my current sexual partner told me she was anti-lube.  She doesn’t like [to] have “extra, unnecessary things inside of her.”  This really harshed my game, since lube is kinda part of my psychological sex ritual.  Any advice? -Lubeless in Lust

Dear Lubeless,

I can understand your new lover’s hesitancy with using lube. Most lube available in stores is a sticky, yeast-infection inducing concoction. The most widely available brands are KY Lubricant and Astroglide. Both contain glycerin, a sugar byproduct used to sweeten the bitter taste of lube.

Glycerin is bad news for your vagina. Vaginas have a natural balance of bacteria, fungi and yeast (organisms that live inside and outside everyone’s bodies). When you introduce something like glycerin a family of microscopic yeasts called Candida thrives out of control.

Then comes the itching yeast infection.

Your partner may have experienced a yeast infection after using lube and swore it off. I understand.

First, ask her which brands of lube she has used before. (I’m willing to bet KY and Astroglide). Explain that there are many, many different types of lube that can really enhance sensation without feeling sticky, gross or throwing her vaginal balance off. I suggest Pleasureglide (personal favorite, very good for sensitive va-jayjays) or the new line of Sliquid Organics.

If she still wants nothing to do with this slippery mess, incorporate lube into your sex life without putting it inside of her. Ask her to give you a well lubricated hand job. Buy some tasty flavored lube and have her lick it off of you. Squirt a heaping dose between her breasts and get down with the titty fucking.

If she wants nothing to do with that, break up with her. Don’t sleep with someone completely unwilling to negotiate with you.

Side note: Reader Scosol asked why I push so hard for lube inside of condoms. I push for them inside of latex condoms because a few drops in the reservoir tip makes a big difference. Unless you’re into rubbery friction on your cock. As far as polyurethane or polyisoprene alternatives, I don’t know. Maybe I need to do some field testing.

2 thoughts on “Lube Conundrum”

  1. Sliquid just in general is glycerin-free, btw. The guy who invented it did so because his wife needed glycerin-free lube and there wasn’t any good stuff on the market at the time. I find that the must heartwarming lube manufacturing story I know, heh.

  2. Hi!

    I don’t really feel any rubbery friction while wearing a condom, and I’m a little afraid of it coming off. So I ask, is lube inside the condom really necessary? And couldn’t the rubbery friction be avoided with a smaller condom?

    By the way, love your blog!

Leave a Reply

